RSS Feed

Daytime Holiday

I’ve seen many posts about holiday party dresses (including some ideas of my own here), and I’m planning to share my office holiday party dress soon. But not all holiday parties are cocktail dress attire. You may have an office holiday luncheon or other daytime event. Dressing for such an occasion can be tricky. You want to get in the holiday spirit, but how do you toe the line between festive and over-the-top?

Today’s outfit is one I would wear to either a daytime work holiday function, or maybe an event immediately after work. The basic pieces are classics–a tailored skirt, crew neck cardigan, tall black boots, and a mess of pearls. The glittery thread of the cardigan and holiday color combo make it seasonally appropriate (although I would wear this other times of the year, too).

What do you think? How are you dressing for more casual holiday events this year?

IMG_6701-color IMG_6713-color IMG_6715-crop

Top: Old Navy (similar here and here) // Cardigan: Express // Skirt: Express // Tights: similar // Boots: J. Crew (old) (similar here) // Necklace: Stella & Dot (old, similar here) // Earrings: DIY out of the necklace 🙂 // Bracelets: J. Crew (old, similar here) and Stella & Dot (old, similar here)

7 responses »

  1. Very cute outfit, this would be great for a daytime or more casual holiday event! Love the necklace!

    Jamie
    forevereightyone.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. So cute! I love the belted cardigan and the pearls!!
    xoAmy
    http://www.dreamingincashmere.com

    Reply
  3. I think is a great holiday party attire. I have a couple more holiday events coming up I’ll be sharing. All the events in december are so fun. Oh and I was thinking if you’d ever like to do a button sway let me know!

    Reply
  4. Such cute style, especially with that fun red skirt!

    Reply
  5. Your necklace is gorgeous, and I love how a great red skirt just screams holiday ready 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

