RSS Feed

Denim on Denim

I’ve been a bit leery to try the denim on denim trend, even though I’ve seen other people pull it off. Something in my psyche tells me it’s wrong. I sort of cheated in my first attempt at denim on denim by putting a bright sweater over my polka dot chambray top. I decided it still counted because I would wear the outfit without the sweater if I got too hot. Since the top is a significantly different shade of blue and has a pattern, I think it works. I should’ve taken a photo without the sweater so you can help me decide if it looks great or if I’m crazy. Do you denim + denim?

Shirt: Old Navy // Sweater: J. Crew (old, current version here) // Jeans: J. Crew. (old) Similar here // Wedges: Nine West. Similar here // Bag: J. Crew (old) // Necklace: Stella & Dot (sold out) // Bracelets: Stella & Dot 1, 2, 3, 4 and J. Crew (old)

15 responses »

  1. Looks great with the sweater! But I think it would work equally well without because the printed top doesn’t really look like denim. Incidentally, my advisor wears denim+denim about once a week but I wouldn’t call it “pulling it off….” πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Cute combo, Thanks so much for dropping by my blog and you know what you’ll be shocked when i say those pumps are supper comfortable πŸ™‚ .

    Tash

    Reply
  3. your outfit is great! i love wearing denim on denim. i had read somewhere that your top should always be the lighter wash and your pants darker, so you are definitely doing it right!

    Reply
  4. So cute! I absolutely love your style! Newest reader/follower.
    xoxo,
    Leigh

    Reply
  5. Hey! Didnt know your blog…but I like your style! Your outfit is beautiful πŸ™‚

    http://doitnaturalnow.blogspot.com.es/

    Reply
  6. Love the pink and polka dots. Beautiful !
    Very pretty. Love this outfit. Great bag!

    Xo Amy,

    http://stylechocolatechip.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  7. I’m also hesitant to try this, but your shirt is so cute and doesn’t look like denim at all! This is the ideal way to pull it off.

    Reply
  8. I love the denim on denim look & you rocked it! I love that the shirt has little polka dots on it πŸ™‚
    xoxox
    Shelby

    glitterandgingham.blogspot.com

    Reply
  9. I like the subtle way you did double denim!

    Reply
  10. Pink is your color!!! You look gorgeous. I love the touch of leopard print as well.
    http://shannonhearts.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  11. Love the dotted chambray!

    Reply
  12. I have this same top, and I love the way you styled it! So cute

    Xo, Rachel

    Glitzy Blues

    Reply
  13. That’s so cute! I hear what you’re saying about denim on denim, but the polka dots + sweater are a fab combo!

    xo, sam
    **Style of Sam**

    Reply

Leave a Reply

