RSS Feed

Hello, Pink Shoes!

Welcome to Christine In Color!

I’m Christine, and I love colorful, affordable fashion. I previously worked in the retail industry and one comment I frequently heard from customers was that they didn’t know how to wear color. I love mixing colors and patterns, and I am here to show you how to do it too!

Here are some features you can expect from my blog:

  1. How to wear an item 3 ways–I’ll show you how to take seemingly tricky wardrobe pieces and make 3 unique outfits with them
  2. Great finds at great prices–Spotlights on affordable, fun items I have come across
  3. Sale alerts
  4. My 2 Cents–My advice and tips on everything from what to buy to build a new wardrobe, how to identify your style, and how I shop on a budget

I’m sure I will expand the features of Christine In Color as time goes on and I would love your feedback on what you like or would want to read.

In my first post, I’m wearing my favorite colors: navy and hot pink. Navy is clean and classic, but pink is fun and feminine. The combination is perfection! I love it so much, I used it as my wedding colors 🙂

I’m kicking off my “how to wear an item 3 ways” feature with my wonderful, pink heels. I fell in love with these as soon as I saw them. When I showed a friend, her response was, “yeah, those are beautiful… but what are you going to wear them with?” Hot pink heels are admittedly not every day shoes. And while it’s okay to have certain items that you don’t wear very often (i.e. wedding/party dresses or accessories), in general, you shouldn’t have something that you don’t know what to wear it with, or that you only have one outfit to wear it with.

To combat this problem, when I buy something that I’m not sure how I’m going to style, I find 3 outfits I already own to wear the item with. If I can’t, I don’t get to keep the item. Look for outfit number 2 with these beauties in a few weeks!

Top: Old Navy, similar

Cardigan: J. Crew, similar

Skirt: Banana Republic

Shoes: J. Crew, similar and same shoes, different colors

Bag: J. Crew, similar and same clutch, different color 

Bracelets: Stella & Dot and J. Crew: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

What’s your favorite color combination? How do you like to wear it?

~Christine

9 responses »

  1. Christine I love this and I am so excited to follow! Btw, while you were rocking those heels with jeans, they look awesome with a skirt.

    Reply
  2. I love the idea! I just bought a couple of skinny belts in orange and pink. I think they’ll be fun for fall!

    Reply
  3. I love that youve started a blog where you explain how you put together your signature Christine style! You look beautiful 🙂 also… Next time we are in the same city I’m going to make you go shopping with me and be my style consultant!

    Reply
  4. I’m so excited to follow your blog, Christine! And those shoes – oh my goodness!

    Reply
  5. Hi fellow Christine 🙂 I’m so excited to start checking your blog!

    http://xochristinemarie.blogspot.com

    Reply
  6. Did you work at J.Crew?! I worked there for a year as a merchant and LOVED mixing the colors/prints!

    Reply
    • Actually I did! I was a sales associate in graduate school in 07-09 so I have a lot of J. Crew from that time period when I got the killer employee discount. I obviously have kept shopping there since it’s my favorite store, but man, I miss that discount!! I definitely learned a thing or two about mixing colors/patterns at J. Crew.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

